Panoramic Pictures with Windows Live and Image Composite Editor

1 01 2010

The kids and I went Geocaching yesterday.  We had a blast.  We found the location and coordinates at GeoCaching.com.

The cache was at the top of a pretty steep hill near Madera Canyon in the Coronado National Forest (Southern Arizona).  It was a small metal tea can in a buried steel pipe.

I started taking pictures as Isabelle and Jasper were removing the cache.  I circled them from a number of angles to get enough pictures to stitch together for a panorama.  Usually you stay in one spot and spin, but I wanted multiple images of the explorers, so I actually circled them (look at the shadows to get a sense of the different angles).

I was planning on using the image stitching that came with my Canon Camera, but after googling for the software (and getting frustrated with Canon’s website) I came to a recommendation of Windows Live Photo Gallery and it’s panorama feature (see below).

Then I also found a link to a more advance version (same software engine) from Microsoft Research called Image Composition Editor(ICE).  The results were pretty much the same, but the ICE program offered a little more flexibility in determining the perspective of the panoramic(see below).

What a great way to end the year.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2010
Lucy

nice one Gary – glad I’ve converted a few more muggles into geocachers!

2 01 2010
perlitalabs

Lucy, you are the master… I remember when I first heard you were a Geocacher… I said,”me too”. You asked how many have you found and I responded “10”. You went on to say you were in the hundreds… we are in different leagues.

I will say geocaching with kids is an adventure in itself (I had to carry the kids 1.5 miles back to the car after this).

Leave a Reply

