My Data Visualization Holiday Wish List

1 12 2009

As I have been writing this blog I have come across a number of great minds in the Data Visualization space and some of their books.  My Amazon wishlist has actually gotten quite long, but I narrowed it down to 3 books I want to add to my Data Visualization library:

Beautiful Data by Jeff Hammerbacher and Toby Segaran has caught my eye for a while, but it was not until I saw it in Barnes and Noble that it made my list.  There are 39 contributors that share some of their greatest data visualization with a large number of color pages showcasing their work.  This is the kind of book that can get you out of a mental block and inspire you to create.

Running the Numbers: An American Self-portrait by Chris Jordan made my list because of his Ted talk.  If you have not seen Chris Jordan pictures some shocking stats please do.  It is an inspiring video demonstrating how Art and Visualization can help the human mind make sense of the biggest issues facing society today.  I came aware motivated to make the world a better place and inspired that data visualization can play a role in creating change.  I am really excited to all of the “portraits” that are included in the book.

The Visual Miscellaneum by David McCandless proposes to be a collection of great data visualisations, diagrams and infographics.  I have seen the book promoted on the well designed site of David’s Information is Beautiful.   You can just tell from the site that this book will be a good one.  I recently used one of the infographics he contributed to for a political conversation with my wife, regarding the traits of the left vs the right.

So there are the 3… and yes, my order is in and they are on their way.  Lots of good reading and sources for inspiration.


Actions

Information

3 responses

5 12 2009
perlitalabs

I got this email from Amazon today:

Hello from Amazon.com.

Due to a lack of availability from our suppliers, we will not be able to obtain the following item(s) from your order:

Chris Jordan “Running the Numbers: An American Self-portrait”

We’ve cancelled the item(s) and apologize for the inconvenience.

What a bummer… There are digital and used (over $50) copies available… I will have to check out eBay.

24 01 2010
Book Review: The Visual Miscellaneum « The Pearl

[…] Review: The Visual Miscellaneum 24 01 2010 So I did get the books on my holiday wishlist and have had a great time going through all the amazing thinking on data visualization.  The first […]

12 04 2010
Alfred Inselberg

May I recommend that you also look at

Parallel Coordinates – This book is about visualization, systematically incorporating the fantastic human pattern recognition into the problem-solving …
http://www.springer.com/mathematics/numerical…/978-0-387-21507-5

which is now available. It contains an easy to read chapter (10) on Data Mining. Among others, I received a wonderful compliment from Stephen Hawking who also recommended this “valuable book” to his students.

Best regards

Alfred Inselberg, Professor
School of Mathematical Sciences
Tel Aviv University
Tel Aviv 69978, Israel

Leave a Reply

